Alt Text 1

Memorial Signs to the Victims of the Nazi Regime

A Project of the Department of Arts and Culture of the City of Munich


Startseite 1 (Slider)

News and Events

Event 17.05.2024 01:30 p.m.

Memorial Signs for families Fleischhacker, Frank, Gugenheimer, Richard

On Friday, 17 May 2024, a memorial event for Jewish residents of Munich who became victims of National Socialism took place at Käthe Kollwitz Gymnasium.

News 05.02.2024

New Website for the Memorial Signs of Munich

The Coordination Centre for the Memorial Signs in the Munich Cultural Department is pleased to present the new website for the Memorial Signs in Munich.

Event 15.04.2024 04:00 p.m.

Memorial Sign for Willi Gögel

Due to his disability, little Willi Gögel was deemed "unfit for education" by the Nazi regime. Willi Gögel was only 10 years old when he was murdered in the "paediatric ward" of the Eglfing-Haar sanatorium and nursing home.

News 03.07.2023

Memorial Sign for Hugo Daffner is being replaced

The new memorial plaque for Dr Hugo Daffner has arrived. Following a helpful tip from a researcher, the date of death on the memorial plaque has been corrected.

To the map

Locations of Memorial Signs in Munich

The network of Memorial Signs is growing constantly. Our map will help you to find the exact locations of Memorial Signs and provide you with short biographies of the people commemorated.


To the map

Startseite 2 (EZ setzen)
Alt EN

Initiating a Memorial Sign

Find out more about how you can help to give the victims of the Nazi regime a place in our city society by applying for a Memorial Sign yourself or by becoming a sponsor.


Read more

Discover life stories

Startseite 3 (Zitat) Kopie

Memory has faces in mind

“Memory is like water: it is vital, and it finds its own way into new spaces and to other people. It is always specific: it has faces in mind, and places, and smells, and sounds. It has no expiry date, and it cannot be declared to be completed or finished by any kind of resolution or ruling.”

Noach Flug (1925-2011), survivor of the Auschwitz Concentration Camp and President of the International Auschwitz Committee